Thursday, July 23, 2009

What is Islamic Slaughtering or zabihah or simply halal meat.


Muslims are enjoined to slaughter their livestock by slitting the animal's throat in a swift and merciful manner, reciting God’s name with the words, "In the name of God, God is Most Great" (Qur'an 6:118-121). This is in acknowledgement that life is sacred, and that one must kill only with God's permission, to meet one's lawful need for food. The animal is then bled completely before consumption. Meat prepared in this manner is called zabihah, or simply, halal meat.

Some Muslims will abstain from eating meat if they are uncertain of how it was slaughtered. They place importance on the animal having been slaughtered in a humane fashion with the remembrance of God and gratefulness for this sacrifice of the animal's life. They also place importance on the animal having been bled properly, as otherwise it would not be considered healthy to eat.

Some Muslims living in predominantly-Christian countries hold the opinion that one may eat commercial meat (apart from pork, of course), and pronounce God’s name at the time of eating it. This opinion is based on the Qur'anic verse (5:5) that the food of Christians and Jews is lawful for Muslims.



0 comments:

#Islamic Calendar 2018 Events

Islamic 2018 Event Name English Date Islamic Date
#Urs Haji Malang 2 Jan, 2018 - Tuesday 14 Rabi Ul Akhir
#Urs Haji Ali Baba Mumbai 4 Jan, 2018 - Thursday 16 Rabi Ul Akhir
714th Urs Sharif Of Hazrat Khwaaja Syed Nizamuddin Aulia Mehboob-e-elahi Rahmatullah Alayh 7 Jan, 2018 - Sunday 21 Rabi Ul Akhir
#Urs Khawjah Gharib Nawaz, Ajmer Sharif 24 March, 2018 - Saturday 6th Rajab 1439
#Lailat-ul-Meraj #Shab-e-meraj Night of Apr 14, 2018 - Saturday 26-Rajab-1439
#Shabe-e-Barat May 01, 2018 - Tuesday 14th Sha'baan 1439
#Start of Fasting Month (#Ramadan) May 17, 2018 - Thursday 1st Ramadan 1439
#Lailat-ul-Qadr (#Shab-E-Qadr) Jun 11, 2018 - Monday 27 Ramadan 1439
#Jummat-ul-Wida 15 June 2018 - Friday Last Friday of Ramadan
#Eid-ul-Fitr Jun 16, 2018 - Saturday 1st Shawwal 1439
Wafaat Of Huzur Tajushariah Rahmatullah Allai July 20, 2018 - Friday 06 Dhul Qadah 1439
#Hajj Aug 21, 2018 - Tuesday 9th Dhul-Hijjah 1439
#Eid-ul-Adaha #Bakrid Aug 22, 2018 - Wednesday 10th Dhul-Hijjah 1439
#Islamic New Year Sep 11, 2018 - Tuesday 1st Muharram 1440
#Yaum al-Ashura Sep 20, 2018 - Thursday 10th Muharram 1440
#Eid Milad-un-Nabi Nov 20, 2018 - Tuesday 12th Rabi-al-Awwal 1440
#Urs Haji Ali Baba Mumbai 24th December, 2018 - Thursday 16 Rabi Ul Akhir
714th Urs Sharif Of Hazrat Khwaaja Syed Nizamuddin Aulia Mehboob-e-elahi Rahmatullah Alayh 27th December, 2018 - Sunday 19 Rabi Ul Akhir