Information on Islamic Halal & Haram Food

Rules about halal eating and drinking. What must a Muslim Eat? What is Forbidden for a Muslim in eating?

Allah says in the Qur’an, “ O you who believe (in the Oneness of Allâh - Islâmic Monotheism)! Eat of the lawful things that We have provided you with, and be grateful to Allâh, if it is indeed He Whom you worship.” (Al-Baqarah 2:172)

"O People, eat from the land what is permitted & good & do not follow in the footsteps of Shaitan, for he is an open enemy to you."
(Al Baqarah, 2:168)


Muslims are allowed to eat what is "good" (Qur'an 2:168) - that is, what is pure, clean, wholesome, nourishing, and pleasing to the taste. In general, everything is allowed (halal) except what has been specifically forbidden.

1) - Plants, fruits, vegetables and grains: All of these can be eaten as long as they are not harmful and poisonous to human beings.

2) - Living Animals : Divided into three:
A- Sea Animals
B- Land Animals
C- Birds

A- Sea  Animals

Only Fishes having scales are allowed. Other sea creatures such as sharks, turtles, whales, lobsters and crabs are Haraam. Prawns and Shrimps can be eaten. Only alive fishes removed from water is treated as Halal no matter who and how you catch it

B- Land Animals

Allah has permitted the eating of some animals and forbidden other animals. The first five verses of Surah Al Maidah (The Table Spread) give a brief information on halal and haram food

Domestic animals such as Camels, Cows, Goats and Sheep are permissible to eat. Wild Animals such as mountain sheep, wild cows and asses, gazelles and deer are permitted.

Animals that possess canine teeth or fangs aur forbidden from eating for a muslim such as dogs, rabbits, elephants and monkeys , snakes and tortoises.  Insects such as fleas and lice are also forbidden. However, locusts are permissible.

There are specific verses in the Holy Qur'an forbidding the eating of a pig.

Eating the meat of a horse, donkey or mule is Makruh (undesirable).

C- Birds.

There are two conditions for eating Birds

i- The body is covered with feathers.
ii- They are not classes as birds of prey (possessing talons).

How to distinguish between birds that are permitted or not

i- Every bird which, when in flight glides more than the flapping of its wings cannot be eaten.
ii- If a particular bird's movement is not known, then before eating one must check for the presence of one of the following:
a craw (where grain collects in the throat),
a gizzard (part of the stomach) or a projection (a fork-like extension on the bird's foot which performs the function of a talon).

Thus chickens, turkeys, pigeons and all small birds are permissible to eat. Even ostriches and peacocks are allowed.
Birds of prey like eagles, hawks and vultures are Haraam to eat. Crows, rooks and ravens should not be eaten either.

Other animals, which fly but are not, classified, as birds such as bats, bees and other flying insects are Haraam.

However, please note that in cases where one is in danger of dying through starvation, anything, including forbidden things, can be consumed to save life. This must be done as a last resort and only the absolute minimum must be eaten and must not be treated as permissible in Islam


Muslims are enjoined by their religion to abstain from eating certain foods. This is in the interest of health and cleanliness, and in obedience to God. In the Qur'an (2:173, 5:3, 5:90-91, 6:145, 16:115), the following foods and drinks are strictly prohibited by God

* Dead meat (i.e. carcass of an already-dead animal)
* Blood
* Flesh of swine (pork)
* Intoxicating drinks
* Meat of an animal that has been sacrificed to idols
* Meat of an animal that died from strangulation or blunt force
* Meat from which wild animals have already eaten

No comments